Comprehensive List of Schengen Countries

Comprehensive List of Schengen Countries

The Schengen Area was named after the popular “Schengen Agreement” back in 1995, when 26 member states, having opened up their international borders to each other abolished all barriers to movement among the countries. Simply put, the schengen countries (in the Schengen Area) are in agreement to eliminate border controls with other Schengen member countries and collectively strengthen border controls with the non-Schengen states. Out of the twenty-eight European Union member states, twenty-two are actively involved in the Schengen agreement and hence make up the Schengen Area.

The present population of the Schengen area is over 400 million (419,392,429 to be exact) and an area of 4,312,099 kilometer square according to recent records. These records might increase or decrease depending on what happens in the near future..

The Schengen Area member states include the following countries:

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Liechtenstein

From the list of twenty six (26) member schengen countries of the Schengen Area, we can clearly see that twenty two (22) members belong to the Schengen Acquis while the remaining four (4) of the members belong to the European Free Trade Association (EFTA).

Again, three (3) of the countries that are associated with Schengen Area are not the members of the European Union (EU). The countries are:

  • Norway
  • Iceland
  • Switzerland

Furthermore, there are three (3) special member states that are not part of the European Union (EU) but can be considered as de facto participants. The countries are as follow:

  • San Marino
  • Vatican City
  • Monaco

Also, there are six (6) member states of European Union (EU) that are yet to join the Schengen Area and are seeking to join soon. Those six (6) members are:

  • The United Kingdom
  • Croatia
  • Bulgaria
  • Cyprus
  • Romania
  • Ireland